Home » Other » General » Oracle vs MsSQL
Oracle vs MsSQL [message #182210] Thu, 13 July 2006 14:13 Go to next message
Mongr1l
Hello. First, if I'm posting this in the wrong forum, please forgive me as I'm new.

I'm an MS SQL Developer of 12 years. I have been asked by my boss the merits to switching to Oracle. It pains me to say that I know absolutely nothing about Oracle, so I can not make an argument either way.

Could anyone offer some insight, please?

Thanks in advance.

-mongril
Re: Oracle vs MsSQL [message #182214 is a reply to message #182210] Thu, 13 July 2006 15:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Most of us have the same problem - we know Oracle inside-out, but don't know anything about MySQL.

My personal opinion is that MySQL is OK for small to medium sized web sites, but will you use it to store a company's financial records?

Press releases that they've finally added views in MySQL 5.0 doesn't help either - it creates the impression that MySQL is at least 20 to 25 years behind Oracle.

Oh yes, and didn't Oracle buy InnoDB and BDB sometime last year?

Like I've said, I may be biased, but I would much rather list Oracle on my CV than MySQL.

Best of luck with your choice.
icon12.gif  Re: Oracle vs MsSQL [message #182224 is a reply to message #182214] Thu, 13 July 2006 18:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mongr1l
Not MySQL... MS SQL.

But good point, though.

- mongril
Re: Oracle vs MsSQL [message #182239 is a reply to message #182224] Thu, 13 July 2006 21:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rleishman
MS SQL = SQL Server ?

My approach is not that scientific, and I am by no means an expert in MS SQL, but here's what I'd do:

Have you already selected a hardware platform and operating system? If so, the choice for me is simple:
- Windoze: MS
- Unix: Oracle
- Mainframe: DB2